Site Logo

Hello, you are using an old browser that's unsafe and no longer supported. Please consider updating your browser to a newer version, or downloading a modern browser.

Translate Site:    
Banner Illustration

Questions ? Nous avons les réponses

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

QUELLE EST LA PÉRIODE DE CANDIDATURE ?

La période de candidature pour les subventions 2019 est maintenant terminée. Obtenez plus d’informations sur nos domaines prioritaires, sur les critères d’admissibilité et le processus de candidature ici.

COMMENT LE FONDS EST-IL STRUCTURÉ ?

Le Girls First Fund est un fonds philanthropique de Capital for Good USA, une organisation caritative publique en vertu de l’article 501(c)(3) du chapitre 26 du Code des États-Unis. Les dons pour le fonds peuvent être faits pour Capital for Good USA ou pour le Girls First Fund. Capital for Good USA verse des subventions au nom du Girls First Fund.

QUI PEUT FAIRE UNE DEMANDE DE SUBVENTION ?

Les organisations communautaires et les organisations nationales ou sous-nationales à portée locale (voir les définitions ci-dessous) qui travaillent dans les endroits suivants sont admissibles :

  • République démocratique du Congo (Haut-Katanga et/ou provinces du Tanganyika)
  • République dominicaine
  • Inde (état du Jharkhand)
  • Népal
  • Niger
  • Ouganda

Nous allons accorder des subventions à différentes organisations qui mettent en œuvre une variété de stratégies qui ont pour objectif de mettre fin au mariage des enfants et aux unions précoces. Nous sommes plus intéressés par les approches qui apportent des solutions locales au contexte local et qui illustrent la manière dont les filles, leurs familles, et les communautés sont impliquées dans la conception et la mise en œuvre de cette approche.

COMMENT DÉFINISSEZ-VOUS UNE ORGANISATION COMMUNAUTAIRE ?

Nous définissons une organisation communautaire (OC) comme une organisation qui est impliquée dans la communauté, qui travaille au sein de la communauté, qui est redevable envers la communauté et dont le personnel est originaire de la communauté.

Les OC se concentrent sur les questions et préoccupations qui touchent directement le niveau local (quartier, ville, district). Elles incluent à la fois des organisations formelles et informelles. Les OC sont parfois appelées des organisations populaires de base ou des organisations dirigées localement. Les OC incluent, mais sans s’y limiter :

  • Les groupes communautaires
  • Les groupes d’entraide
  • Les groupes de femmes
  • Les groupes de filles
  • Les groupes de jeunes
  • Des groupes autochtones
  • Les associations
  • Les réseaux, les collectifs et les coalitions
  • Les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG)
  • Les organisations de la société civile (OSC)
  • Les organismes de bienfaisance
  • Les organisations confessionnelles (doivent avoir une politique de non-prosélytisme)
  •  Les syndicats
COMMENT DÉFINISSEZ-VOUS UNE ORGANISATION NATIONALE ET SOUS-NATIONALE À PORTÉE LOCALE ?

Nous définissons une organisation nationale et sous-nationale axée sur le niveau local comme une organisation ayant une présence bien ancrée dans la communauté avec une connexion locale ainsi qu’une connaissance du contexte de cette communauté dans laquelle le projet aura lieu. Elles croient à l’engagement participatif et travaillent avec les informations et les connexions locales ainsi que l’apprentissage pour guider les orientations et les stratégies des programmes. Elles évitent la conception verticale de programmes. Le siège social et le leadership organisationnel sont basés dans le pays ; ils ne sont pas une filiale/succursale d’une organisation internationale. Elles doivent être en mesure de démontrer une expérience de travail précédente dans et avec les collectivités où le travail proposé aura lieu afin d’être admissibles.

QUI N’EST PAS ADMISSIBLE POUR RECEVOIR UNE SUBVENTION ?

Les organisations qui ne sont pas admissibles pour recevoir une subvention sont les suivantes :

  • Particuliers
  • ONGI
  • ONG qui sont une filiale ou une succursale d’une ONGI et/ou lorsque le siège social ou le leadership organisationnel est situé à l’extérieur du pays dans lequel le travail aura lieu (la République démocratique du Congo, République dominicaine, l’Inde, le Népal, le Niger, ou l’Ouganda)
  • Les organisations internationales avec une affiliation politique, qui ont le soutien de ou qui soutiennent des groupes politiques
  • Les entités à but lucratif
  • Les organisations confessionnelles qui cherchent à convertir des individus ou qui mènent des actions visant à pousser les individus à rejoindre ou à adopter une croyance religieuse particulière, une idéologie, une croyance, une cause, ou une opinion dans le cadre d’activités ou des programmes
  • Les institutions de recherche ou d’éducation
LES NOUVELLES ORGANISATIONS PEUVENT-ELLES DÉPOSER UNE CANDIDATURE ?

Oui. Les nouvelles entreprises sont invitées à déposer leur candidature. Nous avons pour engagement de soutenir les organisations nouvelles et émergentes ainsi que celles qui n’ont jamais bénéficié d’une subvention de la part d’un important donateur.

DEUX ORGANISATIONS PEUVENT-ELLES DÉPOSER UNE CANDIDATURE ENSEMBLE ?

Plusieurs organisations peuvent travailler ensemble pour remplir une demande de subvention, si chacune des organisations candidates répond aux critères et est admissible pour une subvention. En cas d’attribution d’une subvention, nous établirons un accord de subvention avec l’une des organisations du groupe. L’organisation pour laquelle l’accord de subvention aura été fait sera responsable de la subvention, des rapports, etc. Nous encourageons également les organisations qui posent une candidature commune à avoir un protocole d’entente entre elles qui décrit les rôles et responsabilités de chaque organisation.

QUAND LE PROCHAIN CYCLE DE SUBVENTION DÉBUTERA-T-IL ?

Les plans pour le prochain cycle de financement ne sont pas encore finalisés. Inscrivez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir une notification lors de l’ouverture et pour d’autres mises à jour sur le fonds.

VOUS N’AVEZ PAS TROUVÉ LA RÉPONSE QUE VOUS RECHERCHIEZ ?

Contactez-nous.

Site Logo

Hello, you are using an old browser that's unsafe and no longer supported. Please consider updating your browser to a newer version, or downloading a modern browser.

Translate Site:    
Banner Illustration

Questions? We’ve Got Answers

Frequently Asked Questions

HOW IS THE FUND STRUCTURED?

The Girls First Fund is a fund of Capital for Good USA, a U.S. 501(c)(3) public charity. Donations for the fund can be made to Capital for Good USA or the Girls First Fund. Capital for Good USA disburses grants on behalf of the Girls First Fund.

WHO CAN APPLY FOR A GRANT?

Community-based organizations and locally-focused national or sub-national organizations (see definitions below) that work in the following locations are eligible to apply:

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo (Haut Katanga, and/or Tanganyika provinces)
  • Dominican Republic
  • India (Jharkhand state)
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Uganda

We make grants to a diverse range of organizations, implementing a variety of strategies, that work to end child marriage and early unions. We are most interested in organizations that support local solutions at the community level and that illustrate how girls, their families, and communities are involved in the design and implementation of their approach.

HOW DO YOU DEFINE A COMMUNITY-BASED ORGANIZATION?

We define a community-based organization (CBO) as an organization that is engaged in the community, works from within the community, is accountable to the community, and is staffed by people from the community.
CBOs focus on issues and concerns directly affecting the local level (neighborhood, city, district). They include both formal and informal organizations. CBOs are sometimes referred to as grassroots organizations or locally-led organizations. CBOs include, but are not limited to:

  • Community groups
  • Self-help groups
  • Women’s groups
  • Girls’ groups
  • Youth groups
  • Indigenous groups
  • Associations
  • Networks, collectives, and coalitions
  • Non-governmental organizations (NGOs)
  • Civil society organizations (CSOs)
  • Charitable organizations
  • Faith-based organizations (must have a no proselytizing policy)
  • Labor unions
HOW DO YOU DEFINE A LOCALLY-FOCUSED NATIONAL OR SUB-NATIONAL ORGANIZATION?

We define a locally-focused national and sub-national organization as an organization with an existing deep presence in, local connection to, and contextual knowledge of the communities where the proposed work will take place. They believe in participatory engagement and work with local information, local connections, and learnings to guide programming direction and strategies. They avoid a top-down program design. The head office and organizational leadership are based in the country; they are not an affiliate/branch of an international organization. They must be able to demonstrate previous experience of work in and with the communities where the proposed work will take place in order to be eligible.

WHO IS NOT ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE A GRANT?

Organizations that are not eligible for a grant are:

  • Individuals
  • INGOs
  • NGOs that are an affiliate or branch of an INGO and/or where the head office or organizational leadership is located outside of the eligible country in which the work will take place (the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominican Republic, India, Nepal, Niger, or Uganda)
  • Organizations with a known political affiliation, such as support from or to political groups
  • For-profit entities
  • Faith-based organizations that attempt to convert individuals or advocate for individuals to join or adopt a particular religious creed, ideology, belief, cause or view in connection with programming or activities
  • Research or educational institutions
CAN NEW ORGANIZATIONS APPLY?

Yes. Newly established organizations are welcome to apply. We are committed to supporting new and emerging organizations as well as organizations that have never received a grant from a large funder.

CAN TWO ORGANIZATIONS SUBMIT AN APPLICATION TOGETHER?

Multiple organizations can work together to complete one application for funding, if each of the applicant organizations fits the criteria and is eligible for funding. If awarded a grant, we will hold a grant agreement with one of the organizations in the group. The organization that holds the grant agreement will be responsible for the grant, reporting, etc. We also encourage organizations that apply together to have a Memorandum of Understanding between them that describes the roles and responsibilities of each organization.

WHEN WILL THE NEXT GRANT CYCLE BEGIN?

The plans for the next grantmaking cycle are not yet finalized. Join our mailing list to get an alert when it opens and for other updates on the fund.

Didn’t find the answer you were looking for?

Contact Us.